On the west coast of the Lake District, 25 miles north of Barrow-in-Furness and 50 miles south of Carlisle, lies the tiny village of Ravenglass. Once a Roman port, part of a chain of defence and supply for north-west Britain, Ravenglass is now chiefly known for the almost unique distinction of laying within two UNESCO World Heritage Sites – Hadrian’s Wall and the Lake District National Park – and, of course, its railway.
For nearly 150 years the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway has transported minerals and latterly tourists up Cumbrian hill and down Cumbrian dale behind delightful miniature steam locomotives. ‘La’al Ratty’, as it is known in local dialect, was built in 1875 to 3ft gauge as England’s first public narrow-gauge railway and, after re-gauging to 15inches in 1915, still carries over 100,000 passengers annually.
The undulating seven-mile route, with gradients as steep as 1 in 40, is as challenging for the locomotive drivers as it is spectacular for the passengers. From the estuary at Ravenglass the line follows the course of the River Mite before climbing steeply and crossing into Eskdale; coastal views and meadows giving way to mountainous vistas as the little line clings to the hillsides ascending over 150ft to reach the terminus at Dalegarth, nestling in the foothills of the Scafell mountains. ‘Visit the English Alps… the Highest Mountain, the Deepest Lake in England by the Smallest Railway in the World’ as period advertisements put it. During the 40-minute journey passengers can also appreciate Heron, Curlew, Red Squirrels and Deer and a profusion of Snowdrops, Bluebells and many other wildflowers depending on the time of year.
A daily service operates from March to October, with 13 departures from Ravenglass every day at the height of the summer season making the line one of the busiest steam railways in the country. Trains are hauled by 5 steam locomotives including River Irt – the world’s oldest working 15inch gauge locomotive and Whillan Beck, built in Germany in 1929 and a new addition to the fleet in 2018. Both are named for water courses along the line, together with two of their sister engines - River Esk and River Mite.
The rich history of this fascinating line is celebrated in Ravenglass Railway Museum, reopened in 2017 after a massive Lottery-Funded redevelopment. Located at Ravenglass station, the Museum takes the visitor on a journey from the beginnings of mining in Eskdale to the construction of the railway in the 1870s, its preservation in 1960 and the story up to the present day as told through more than 3,000 objects ranging from locomotives and carriages to tickets, uniforms, models and artefacts from the Railway’s iron ore mining and granite quarrying heritage. A star attraction is the steam locomotive Katie which worked at Ravenglass in 1916 and has been restored to working order for the first time since the 1920s. Visitors can also get hands-on by taking the controls of an interactive steam engine exhibit, deciding what job on the Railway they would like or dressing as 1920s tourists for a family photo. For more studiously-inclined visitors a private archive store is available by appointment for delving deeper into the intricate artefacts and memorabilia from ‘La’al Ratty’s history.
With spectacular waterfalls, friendly pubs and other local attractions such as the historic Eskdale Mill to explore within walking distance, a journey on the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway should be on the itinerary of any visitor to Cumbria.
For more information visit Ravenglass-railway.co.uk or call 01229 717171
Follow us on Twitter @rersteam and @rermuseum
Written By David Rounce